Tim Tebow, Lefty

Today’s New York Times has an article about what may be the last remaining new angle on Tim Tebow–his left-handedness.

The headline: Tim Tebow Gives Left-Handers Someone to Cheer.

I’m left-handed. I’m not the only DUFLer who is–Anthony T is definitely a lefty, and I’m not sure about Diana, but she acts like a lefty.

I won’t be cheering Tim Tebow, and the fact that he and I share a hand will not enter in to that decision. My dislike of Tebow stems from his outspoken opposition to abortion rights, his insensitive missionary work, and his general football shittiness. (I also sometimes mock his virginity.)

I can overlook this because being left-handed isn’t central to my identity. When I meet another lefty, we may share a comment or two about the difficulty of using can-openers or writing in spiral notebooks, but that’s about it. I don’t feel a particular kinship or shared experience with any other lefty, and I don’t think there are any large cultural organizations discussing the advancement of the left-handed people.

But maybe there should be. Per the article:

[Successful left-handers’] success stories help counteract what also is common among left-handers: they have been found to be more likely to die young, have mental illnesses like schizophrenia and contract illnesses like Crohn’s disease. Some researchers have concluded that birth trauma could be the cause of some left-handedness.

It doesn’t end there. In Matthew, Chaper 25, verse 41, someone writes:

Then shall He say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels.

Or how about a linguistics lesson? Left, in a few languages:

Latin: Sinister

French: Gauche

Old(e) English: Left (but it meant weak, not left like I mean it)

So maybe Tebow is more like me and we’re in more trouble than I would care to realize. Other leftys, what do you think? Should we put aside our rather large intellectual differences and support Tebow? Is it okay to allow something more important than handed-ness to inform our thoughts about others?

5 Comments on “Tim Tebow, Lefty”

  1. Jonathan H. says:

    I’m offended by your handism. In the words of the great Newt Gingrich, “That’s just nonsense dividing this country up.”

    And what’s with recent spate of sportswriting on this blog?

  2. Diana says:

    For the record, I’m a righty! Although if I clasp my hands, my left thumb is on top – does that make me a natural lefty, or is that another lie that they tell you in school?

    • Mike says:

      Hmm. When I clasp my hands, my right thumb is on top. Maybe school had it backwards? Or maybe thumb-dominance and hand-dominance are not related?


Leave a Reply

