It’s Pi Day, Pi Day

At the school where I work, we celebrate March Mathness during the month of March, and on March 14, as many other schools do, we celebrate Pi Day. Each year, we encourage the students to memorize as many digits of pi as they can. This year, the three students able to recite the most digits had the opportunity to pie members of the staff, myself included.

Also new to this year was the singing of the song “Pi Day,” lyrics written/adapted by yours truly. If you’re familiar with pop culture or viral videos, you just may recognize the tune on which this is based.

There may or may not be a video of me singing this song with my students on the Internet. Google away.

***

Pi Day

March 14, waking up in the morning
Gotta be fresh, gotta learn some math
Gotta have my compass, gotta have my protractor
Seein’ all the digits of this irrational number
Goin’ on and on, everybody’s trying’
Gotta try and memorize this number
Gotta learn it all, it never ends

A equals pi r squared
C equals two pi r
Gotta make my mind up
Which rule do I take?

It’s pi day, pi day
Gotta do math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14
Pi day, pi day
Doin’ math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14

Algebra, algebra (Yeah)
Geometry, geometry (Yeah)
Math, math, math, math
Lookin’ forward to March 14

March 14, 73rd day of the year
74th day if it’s a leap year
Math, math, think about math
You know what pi is
I got this, you got this
Calculator is by my right
I got this, you got this
Now we know it

A equals pi r squared
C equals two pi r
Gotta make my mind up
Which rule do I take?

It’s pi day, pi day
Gotta do math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14
Pi day, pi day
Doin’ math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14

Algebra, algebra (Yeah)
Geometry, geometry (Yeah)
Math, math, math, math
Lookin’ forward to March 14

First digit is three, three
Next digit is one, one
We-we-we so excited
We so excited
We gonna learn it all today

The next digit is four
And another one comes after… wards
I don’t want this number to end

It’s pi day, pi day
Gotta do math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14
Pi day, pi day
Doin’ math on pi day
Everybody’s looking forward to March 14

Algebra, algebra (Yeah)
Geometry, geometry (Yeah)
Math, math, math, math
Lookin’ forward to March 14

Leave a Reply

